

South Carolina Law Enforcement Division P.O. Box 21398 Columbia, South Carolina 29221-1398

Henry D. McMaster, Governor Mark A. Keel, Chief

Tel: (803) 737-9000

## RENEWAL PRIVATE INVESTIGATION BUSINESS LICENSE

The following items are required for renewal of your business license. Failure to submit the below listed items will result in your application being returned and/or denied. Application forms are available on the SLED website (<u>www.sled.sc.gov</u>).

- A **non-refundable** \$350.00 annual license fee paid via cashier's check, money order, or company check made payable to SLED. Payment made in the incorrect amount will be returned. No additional fee is required for the licensee's private investigation registration.
- A completed, signed, and notarized application.
- Two (2) complete sets of fingerprint cards. Fingerprint cards are required every five (5) years.
- A recent digital photograph submitted in accordance with SLED Regulatory Services credentialing requirements (instructions available on the SLED website).
- In accordance with S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-70(B), the applicant must post a \$10,000 bond with SLED, on an approved form, in favor of the State by a surety company licensed to transact surety insurance business in this State (approved form and sample available on the SLED website).
- A completed, signed, and notarized Form PD/PS-9. If the company is not incorporated, the applicant for licensing must have a financial interest in the company. A corporate head of an incorporated business who does not wish to apply for a license may designate, in writing, a corporate official to complete the license application.
- A completed Disclosure of Principal(s) form.
- Applicants must submit documentation regarding continuing education. This includes six (6) hours annually, or a total of 12 hours of continuing education credit every 24 months.

REVISED 7/2017 R-37



