Listed below, are some of the most commonly asked questions pertaining to South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits (CWPs). If you have a CWP question, please review this list. If your question is not answered, please contact SLED Regulatory Services. Please note that SLED Regulatory Services does not provide legal advice, legal interpretations, or legal opinions of any kind. If your question involves anything not specifically addressed in state law, you are encouraged to seek the advice of an attorney.

If your question is not addressed below, you may email your specific question to CWPQuestions@sled.sc.gov and a member of our team will respond to your question as soon as possible.

  • Q:   How do I apply for a South Carolina CWP?
  • A:   Most applicants must first attend required training through a certified South Carolina CWP instructor. A listing of instructors is available on the SLED website under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab. Your selected instructor will help you navigate through the remainder of the CWP application process.
  • Q:   How long does it take to get a CWP once the application is mailed in?
  • A:   Although processing times vary greatly depending on current demand and type of application, by state law SLED has 90 days to process and issue permits. If you applied more than 90 days ago and still have not received your permit or notification advising why you have not received it, please contact SLED Regulatory Services by emailing CWPQuestions@sled.sc.gov.
  • Q:   Can I complete an online renewal even though my address has changed?
  • A:   Yes. Here is a link to complete your SCCWP renewal online: Once you have accessed the SCCWP renewal link provided by IdentoGo you will have the option to update your address to your most current and continue initiating the processing of the renewal of your SCCWP. Through the IdentoGo website you will be able to request a renewal of your SCCWP, upload a current copy of your SCDL, or submit any other required documentation, and pay the $50 required to SLED.
  • Q:    How do I renew my CWP application online?
  • A:    From the SLED website, please click the online link within the “SLED CWP” box in the top right corner of the home page . Please carefully read the instructions provided, and follow the prompts to renew your permit. You will be able to apply on-line, so long as your CWP has not been expired for more than (18) months.
  • Q:   If I lost my CWP or changed any information on it (name, address, etc.), how do I get a new one?
  • A:   You may request a replacement CWP online via this link: Once you have accessed the SCCWP Duplicate/Renewal link provided by IdentoGo you will have the option to update your information as intended, pay the $5 fee required to process the transaction, and SLED will be prompted to update your information as requested in our system and then will print your new credential and mail it to you. Once received please shred/destroy your old credential. If you would like to complete a paper Duplicate/Replacement , you may do so by following the directions stated on the form provided.
  • Q:    I sent in a paper request for a replacement for a lost/stolen CWP. How long does it take to get one?
  • A:    Processing times for CWP replacements range anywhere from 45 to 90 days, but statutorily SLED has (90) days to process the request. To expedite your request, you can submit it electronically through the link provided for the IdentoGo website, pay the $5 fee required to process the transaction, and SLED will be prompted to complete your request in our system and then will print your new credential and mail it to you. Once received please shred/destroy your old credential. If you would like to complete a paper Duplicate/Replacement , you may do so by following the directions stated on the form provided.
  • Q:    My CWP expired. Do I have to go through training again?
  • A:   While you are encouraged to maintain familiarity and proficiency with the firearm you intend to carry with your CWP, retraining is not mandated by state law upon expiration. However, you will need to mail in an application as renewing online is not possible if the permit has been expired for more than 18 months then you MUST submit a paper renewal form and copy of your current SCDL.
  • Q:   I have a South Carolina CWP and have moved out of state. What do I need to do?
  • A:   In accordance with state law, you must surrender your permit to SLED. You may mail it to SLED CWP, PO Box 21398, Columbia, SC 29221. Please include a note indicating you have moved out of the state, and SLED will update your information accordingly.
  • Q:   I have a CWP in another state and will be moving to South Carolina. Can I transfer my permit?
  • A:    No. South Carolina law does not permit the transfer of permits from other states. You will need to attend CWP training through a certified South Carolina CWP instructor. A listing of instructors is available on the SLED website under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab. Your selected instructor will help you navigate through the remainder of the CWP application process.
  • Q:   Where can I find a CWP application?
  • A:   The application can be found under the Concealed Weapons Permit section of the SLED website.
  • Q:   Do I need the training information (instructor name, certification number, etc.) to fill out a Renewal application?
  • A:    This information is not needed on a CWP renewal application and can be left blank.
  • Q:    I am an active duty member of the SCNG. What is required of me to apply for my expedited SCCWP?
  • A:   In accordance with S.C. Code Ann. 23-31-210(g), members of the National Guard are exempt from the CWP Training; however, proof of current military service is required to be submitted along with the application as well as the following required items:
  • Copy of South Carolina driver’s license and a copy of your current government issued military identification card.
  • Two sets of fully completed, legible fingerprint cards
  • $50 application fee (must be certified check, cashier’s check, or money order)
  • Must have SCNG written on the top of the application, and mailed to:
  • SLED Regulatory Services
  • Attn: CWP/SCNG
  • PO Box 21398
  • Columbia, S.C. 29221
  • Q:   I am a disabled veteran. Do I need to pay the CWP application fee?
  • A:   No. Disabled veterans are exempt by state law from paying the CWP fee. Please include a letter from the VA certifying your disability, along with your application and other required- documents, including a VA card showing that you are indeed Service Connected. There is no minimum percentage of disability required to be fee exempt.
  • Q:   I am a retired/former military member. What training do I need to complete?
  • A:   Retired/former military members must complete only the legal aspects portion of the CWP training by a certified South Carolina CWP instructor. A listing of instructors is available on the SLED website, which is under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab. You are only required to submit a copy of your (DD 214) along with your application to qualify. Your selected instructor will help you navigate through the remainder of the CWP application process.
  • Q:   I am an active duty military member. What training do I need to complete?
  • A:   In accordance with South Carolina State law, active duty military and members of the reserve, or National Guard members are exempt from all CWP training. However, you will need to submit a CWP application, two fingerprint cards, proof of military service, permanent change of station orders, a copy of your driver’s license, and the required $50 application fee to SLED, PO Box 21398, Columbia, SC 29221. Please check the appropriate box at the top of the application to ensure proper processing.
  • Q:    I am a retired/former law enforcement officer. What training do I need to complete?
  • A:   If you are retired from a law enforcement agency and have not maintained any type of certification or commission; or used to be a law enforcement officer who completed a state or federal training academy, you only need to complete the legal aspects portion of the CWP training by a certified South Carolina CWP instructors. You are only required to submit a copy of your LEO training certificate with your application to qualify. Also, you are exempt from paying the $50 fee. A listing of instructors is available on the SLED website under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab. Your selected instructor will help you navigate through the remainder of the CWP application process. If you still maintain a retired (HR-218) certification, you are exempt from training and are also exempt from the processing fee.
  • Q:   I am a retired law enforcement officer. Do I have to pay the CWP application fee?
  • A:   No. By state law, retired law enforcement officers are exempt from paying the CWP application fee. Please include a letter from the retirement/pension authority from which you receive benefits along with the application and other required documents.
  • Q:    I have a concealed weapon permit from another state and will be visiting South Carolina? How do I know if South Carolina has a reciprocity agreement with my home state, and exactly what are the laws pertaining to carrying or transporting a weapon through South Carolina?
  • A:   You may access a listing of the states that South Carolina has reciprocity with, and the laws regarding those states via the SLED website, under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab.
  • Q:   My state does not have reciprocity with South Carolina. Where can I carry a handgun?
  • A:   Please visit the South Carolina Legislature’s website, particularly S.C. Code Ann. § 16-23-20, for more information on where you may carry a firearm in South Carolina.
  • Q:    I have a valid SCCWP but where can I carry my gun in my vehicle?
  • A:    “Pursuant to S.C. Code Ann. § 16-23-20(9) (A)-(B), the weapon must be “(a) secured in a closed glove compartment, closed console, closed trunk, or in a closed container secured by an integral fastener and transported in the luggage compartment of the vehicle; however, this item is not violated if the glove compartment, console, or trunk is opened in the presence of a law enforcement officer for the sole purpose of retrieving a driver’s license, registration, or proof of insurance. If the person also may secure his weapon under a seat in a vehicle, or in any open or closed storage compartment within the vehicle’s passenger compartment; or (b) concealed on or about his person, and he has a valid concealed weapons permit pursuant to the Provisions of Article 4, Chapter 31, Title 23.”
  • Q:    Do I need a CWP to carry a Taser or pepper spray?
  • A:   Pursuant to S.C. Code Ann. § 23-31-210(5), “Concealable weapon,” means a firearm having a length of less than twelve inches measured along its greatest dimension that must be carried in a manner that is hidden from public view in normal wear of clothing except when needed for self-defense, defense of others, and the protection of real or personal property. Tasers, pepper spray, and/or any other weapon not included in the definition above are not regulated by SLED.”
  • Q:   I moved my residence from South Carolina to another state, but still own property in South Carolina. Do I qualify for a non-resident CWP?
  • A:   If you are no longer a resident of SC, but retain ownership of property in SC, then you will need to change to a non-resident permit. Please complete a Duplicate/Replacement Form & a Real Propety Tax Form (which needs to be completed by the county tax assessor’s office). Once you have completed both forms submit them with a copy of your new driver’s license and the $5 fee (in the form of a certified check or money order), for processing. You also have the option of submitting this request online. Using the SC CWP Duplicate/Renewal link provided by IdentoGo you have the option to update your information as intended, pay the $5 fee required to process the transaction, and SLED will be prompted to update your information as requested in our system and then will print your new credential and mail it to you. Once received please shred/destroy your old credential. If you would like to complete a paper Duplicate/Replacement Form, you may do so by following the directions stated on the form provided.  Also, please email a jpeg photo to cwpappdocuments@sled.sc.gov, so that we can create your new non-resident credential.
  • Q:   I received CWP training a few years ago, but never sent in my application. Is it too late to do so?
  • A:   Your training is good for three (3) years from the date of the training. SLED must receive the application and required documents prior to the expiration of the training certificate. If the application is not received within the time frame you will need to complete the training again.
  • Q:    I live out of state but own property in South Carolina. Can I get a CWP?
  • A:   To qualify for a Non-Resident South Carolina Concealed Weapon Permit you must own real property in the state, and it needs to be registered under the specific SCCWP applicant applying name. To qualify you must complete the SC Concealed Weapons Permit class provided by a registered South Carolina SLED certified instructor. They will assist you in completing the application and advise you on the forms required for submission. In addition to the application requirements please submit a Non-Resident Real Property Tax form completed by the tax assessor in the county that the property is located. A listing of certified CWP instructors  and the Real Propety Tax Form  are available on the SLED website under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab.  Also, please email a jpeg photo to cwpappdocuments@sled.sc.gov, so that we can create your new non-resident credential.
If your question was not addressed above, you may email your specific question to CWPQuestions@sled.sc.gov and a member of our team will respond to your question as soon as possible.