As soon as an abduction is reported and the investigation reveals all of the following:
IMPORTANT: If you respond NO to ANY of the above statements, it does not meet the
U.S. Department of Justice recommended criteria for activation of the AMBER Alert.
- The law enforcement agency believes that the child has been
abducted: taken from
their environment unlawfully, without authority of law, and without permission from
the child's parent or legal guardian.
- The child is 17 years old or younger, and the law enforcement agency believes the
child is in immediate danger of serious bodily harm or death; or if the individual
is 18 years old or older, and the law enforcement agency believes the individual
is at greater risk for immediate danger of serious bodily harm or death because
the individual possesses a proven physical or mental disability.
- All other possibilities for the victim's disappearance have been reasonably excluded.
- There is sufficient information available to disseminate to the public that could
assist in locating the victim, suspect, or vehicle used in the abduction.
- The child's name and other critical data have been entered into NCIC.
How to Activate the South Carolina AMBER Alert:
- When the chief, sheriff, or designee determines that the case
meets all of the criteria for activation of the South Carolina AMBER Alert plan,
call SLED Headquarters at
- Fax or email the completed South Carolina AMBER
Alert Information Form (see
and a photograph of the victim(s) and suspect(s) to (803) 896-7595 .